St. James' Church
Outside the old town, in front of the former lower city gate, stands St. James' Church in the old cemetery. It is no exaggeration to describe this late Gothic church as a jewel of the city.
Donated by the Mainz bailiff Martin von Adelsheim, St. James' Church was built in 1489 on the foundations of a Romanesque chapel from the 12th/13th century. Of great art-historical significance, it is the oldest building in the city, dating back over 500 years, and together with Adelsheim's other architectural monuments, it shapes the historic cityscape.
More than 60 epitaphs and tombstones of the highest quality from the Renaissance, Baroque, and Rococo periods adorn the walls of St. James' Church, along with other works of art. These are mainly tombs of the Barons of Adelsheim, dating from the 14th to the 18th century – fascinating memorials from bygone eras.
Local historian Albert Rückert has studied St. James' Church and its treasures in detail: The oldest tombs in the church are undoubtedly the tomb slabs of the founders of our town, Beringer and Poppo von Adelsheim. These tombs are unusually simple in design and feature the original Adelsheim coat of arms.
Repeatedly furnished with new works of art by the Barons of Adelsheim, the church is an absolute highlight and impresses every historian who visits it – as well as every visitor who leaves the church with enthusiasm.
In 1556, "Martin the Younger" introduced the Lutheran faith. St. James' Church became the Protestant town church. It is also a stop on the old Franconian Way of St. James from Nuremberg to Speyer and is considered by many historians to be one of the most important sacred buildings on this route. Travelers can have their pilgrim's book stamped at the town hall.
| Ort | Adelsheim |
| Autor | Stadt Adelsheim |
| Kategorien | |
| Suchbegriffe / Tags | |
| Lizenz | Alle Rechte vorbehalten |
| Bildquelle | Lukas Müller |
| Urheber | Lukas Müller |
| Zugeordnete Touren | Digitalführung Adelsheim Self-guided tour of Adelsheim |